Leatherwood Creek has turned into a nightmare.

I’ve shelved Leatherwood Creek for a while. I can’t seem to get it written the way it needs to be written.

You see, at first, I wanted it to be like a “soap opera.” There are several characters in this WIP (work in progress), and, at first, most had their POV (point of view) shared. It took a lot of work and was hard to keep up with. I have books of notes. But, it seemed to be too much. Plus, it made some of the scenes too small, which affects the pace and makes it read too fast. This might be okay for TV, as a friend told me, but reading it is another thing.

So, I rewrote it, and It still doesn’t work. Not the way I want or need it to work.

Therefore, the shelf. I’m going to let it simmer a while and work on something else.

And, whoever said writing a novel was easy!

Until next time.

~Darlene

One thought on “Leatherwood Creek has turned into a nightmare.

  1. There are times when every writer must make a difficult choice concerning their work. For me, writing isn’t just sitting at the computer and typing; no, it’s about a journey into the hearts and minds of my characters. When something isn’t working, I know it. I had a similar problem with Dixieland Dead. I wrote that confounded book 12 times before getting it right. It also took another set of professional eyes to spot the problem and help me to see a different course change was in order to save the story. And yes, it’s a story from our hearts. I feel your pain and cry with you.

    Like

Leave a comment